CONTACT AN ATTORNEY
© 2014 HUSSEIN & WEBBER, PL | ALL RIGHTS RESERVED | DISCLAIMER | SITE MAP
RONCO BUILDING | 630 WEST ADAMS STREET, SUITE 206 | JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA 32204
Under Florida law, criminal trespass is defined as the wilful entry into or remaining upon property without the express or implied permission of the owner. Trespass in Florida is classified as a misdemeanor offense and, in some cases, may carry penalties of up to one year in jail or twelve months probation. If you have been accused of a criminal trespass in Jacksonville, Florida, contact our Jacksonville Trespass Attorney for a free consultation.
The crime of trespass is defined under Sections 810.08 and 810.09 of the Florida Statutes. Broadly speaking, there are two types of criminal trespass under Florida law: (1) Trespass in Structure or Conveyance, and (2) Trespass on Property Other Than Structure or Conveyance.
(1) Trespass in Structure or Conveyance-
To prove the crime of Trespass in Structure or Conveyance, the prosecution must establish the following elements beyond a reasonable doubt: (1) the defendant willfully entered or remained in the structure/conveyance or having been authorized to enter, willfully refused to depart after being warned by the owner, lessee, or agent of the owner/lessee, (2) The structure or conveyance was in the lawful possession of the person alleging the trespass, (3) the entering in or remaining in the structure or conveyance by the defendant was without the permission, express or implied, of the person alleging the trespass (or his or her agent).
(2) Trespass on Property Other Than a Structure or Conveyance-
The phrase “posted land” is legally defined as land upon which signs are placed not more than 500 feet apart along and at each corner of the property’s boundaries. The signs must prominently display (in letters not less than 2 inches high) the words “No Trespassing” and must, in smaller letters, state the owner, lessee, or occupant of the land. However, if the property is less than five acres in area, and a dwelling house is located on it, the property will automatically be treated as “posted land” even though no signs have been erected.
A Trespass in Structure or Conveyance is typically charged in Jacksonville as a second degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to sixty days in jail. However, if a person is present in the structure where the trespass occurs, then trespass is considered a first degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail. If the offender is armed with a firearm or other dangerous weapon, then the trespass can be charged as a third degree felony with a five year maximum prison term.
A Trespass on Property Other Than a Structure or Conveyance is a first degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail. However, if the offender carries a firearm or other dangerous weapon, the violation can be charged as a third degree felony with a maximum term of of imprisonment of up to 5 years.
There are multiple legal defenses available to contest a charge of Trespass in Jacksonville, Florida. Some of the most common defenses include the following:
If you have been charged with a trespass in Jacksonville, Florida, a Jacksonville criminal attorney may be able to assist you in contesting the charge or mitigating the possible penalties. Contact HUSSEIN & WEBBER, PL today for a free consultation.
|Battery on Police Officer|
|Domestic Violence Battery|
|Exposure of Sexual Organs|
|Resisting Arrest With Violence|
|Dealing in Stolen Property|
|Failure to Return Leased Property|
|Contracting Without a License|
|Possession of Marijuana|
|Sale of Cannabis|
|Possession of Paraphernalia|
|Violation of Probation|
|Sealing and Expunging|
|Leaving the Scene of an Accident|